top of page

A Direction - Developing Yourself as a Photographer

As with any art, photography takes time and consistency to get the results you're looking for. We all can strive for excellence, but at what point do we actually "master" an art? There may be times in which we produce the exact look we desire when creating a photo. However, there are so many styles of photogrpahy available which require different skill sets and techniques, that there is hardly a definitive point in which we can say we've mastered the art. There a dynamic change that exists from what's required of one photo as compared to the next.

With so many choices and styles, where do we begin? We need a direction~

If we have a direction in what we focus on, we can begin to improve in that area. What kind of message do you want to give out? What do you want your audience to know about you? Why do you do photography? Once you find a starting point, you're ready to begin the process of development in those areas. Some photographers want to be a "do-it-all photographer." While it's not a bad thing to try new things and do different kinds of photography, most professional photographers choose to have an area of specialty. It's likely that you're going to be naturally better at certain styles of photography than others.

I don't do glamour, high fashion, or boudoir photography. I could make money from it, but it's not what I want to be known for, nor is it the kind of message that I want to send out. I'm not interested to hone my skills with those styles of photography, especially if it's something over-commercialized or requires heavy amounts of altering in Photoshop.

When you find a style or type of photography that appeals to you and makes you feel passionate, then go in that direction. I began by shooting primarily landscapes and flowers. I developed substantial skills and techniques with producing the desired effect I wanted. After I felt I reached a point in which I wanted to expand my skill sets and try new challenges, I began to do event photography and weddings. Those are very different styles of photography which require different skill sets.

Even though I was an experienced photographer, the photos I produced from the events and wedding looked a bit amateur due to them being completely different categories of photography. However, I was passionate to improve, so I didn't let the photos that didn't look great bother me. I chose to focus on what turned out well from those sessions, and how I could keep on improving. Now, I'm comfortable with a wider variety of styles but I find the most joy in working with people and creating surreal looking photos which bring out the personalities of those I work with.

I want the photography to be a reflection of the subjects that I'm working with - not just a view of my perspective as a photographer. After you find a direction, develop a style that's unique to yourself. Don't look at too many magazines for help or try to copy other photographer's work. Make something look good by adding your unique touch. Other photographer's influence should be used minimally, and only for a beginner photographer's references. Your unique touch is what will make you stand out as a photographer~

Steve Sherk Photography - Seoul Photographer Korea


Follow - Social Media
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
  • Instagram Social Icon
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page