top of page

Handling Attacks on Your Art


Steve Sherk Photography - Seoul Photographer Korea

Everyone has a different opinion on what qualifies as good art. While there are always ways to improve, develop, and hone your craft - it wouldn’t be appropriate to attack someone’s art or label it “bad.” Either the artist is in a process of developing or the person critiquing the art simply does not care for that style of art. Imposing an attack or coming across as a definitive “expert” of what is “good” or “bad” is not appropriate - our references point, as it relates to artistic preferences, is completely relative.

Recently my photography had been attacked. Someone in a online photography forum decided to over-extend a colorful opinion about my photograpahy. It was negative, disrepectful, and lacking in anything constructive.

Now, it’s not my business if other people don’t like my photography. One can simply ignore it or find another photographer whose style they appreciate. To attack someone or their art is inappropriate, disrespectful, and reflects poorly upon the character of the person who is putting their nose into business which is not their own.

The photography I create is consistent with the product I continually provide – there is nothing fraudulent because my photography style is clear and reliable. Clients and magazines trust me as their photographer because they know what to expect from my work. If my work were “bad,” then it would reflect poorly upon myself, not devalue other photographers and their art.

If you come across someone who attacks you, you need to put things into perspective~

First, understand that attacks come from insecurity. An attack is a poor attempt to feel better about oneself through making others feel or look bad. It’s much easier to bring someone down than it is to pick yourself up – it just takes a few harsh words -in comparison to time, commitment, and development to actually improve yourself.

Next – think things out objectively, and not emotionally. Despite feeling upset at the time, I knew that responding through anger wouldn’t be appropriate or conducive to any positive outcome. I had to think objectively and not let this person take advantage of my emotions. I thought about the attacks, and sorted out why I believe they were groundless and insubstantial. I understood that this person must have a sad, angry, or imbalanced disposition, and just wanted to direct that negative energy at something or somebody.

Finally, block that person! There’s no good that can come from an attacker – they will only try to bother you further. It’s not your responsibility to argue or to convince someone that you are a worthwhile artist. Understand yourself, be honest in what you say and do, and your character will take care of you when others try to attack your reputation.

Character is who you are - reputation is what others think of you. Focus on your character. Get proper feedback in a productive manner by asking the opinion of someone you trust. Please read Accepting Constructive Criticism for further information to getting the best kind of feedback to help develop.


Follow - Social Media
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
  • Instagram Social Icon
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page