top of page

Your Passion vs. Steady Wages


Steve Sherk Photography - Seoul Photographer Korea

This is a hard blog to post, but true and applicable nonetheless.

As winter comes in, and business slows down, an important question comes to mind: Do I keep pursing my passion despite instable income or do I pick up a job I care nothing about so that I can provide stability for my family? My wife is now 15 weeks pregnant and I’m in need to make a regular income. As much as I was hoping that God would provide income steady photography, I may find myself returning to teaching again, out of necessity.

While I’ve always been very adamant in my outspoken views of pursuing what you are passionate about, I find that there comes a time in which you need to make ends meet, regardless of whether or not you’re passionate about it. It would be selfish of me to ignore my responsibility to provide for my family simply because I don’t like a job. While I may need to make money to get past the winter, it doesn’t need to be doing something I don’t like for an indefinite amount of time.

Most wouldn’t expect to learn anything from a job that is un-enjoyable. While I may initially be against teaching English, it has taught me how to be a good parent before my child has even come into this world. I need to be conscious of the benefits that are available in any situation, because anything can be an opportunity if looked at properly. However, this isn’t always an easy thing to remember.

It can be a swallow of pride to take up a job you don’t enjoy. However, the efforts aren’t in vain. God knows what you need, and will provide the means to thrive when the time is ready. As of now, my photography business needs more time to grow and become more reputable. This is an expected process and I understand that patience is involved.

While I hoped that passion alone would suffice, I find that I need to respect the process of success in photography. Much to my dislike, passion alone doesn’t pay the bills. However, it doesn’t mean losing sight of what is important. My art is a priority and will flourish if it’s meant to be. However, I need to respect the process and provide for my family; regardless of how I feel about the work I do. We can find ways to be important in the fields we work in – even if it’s not what we love most.


Follow - Social Media
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
  • Instagram Social Icon
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page