top of page

Respecting Intellectual Property


Steve Sherk Photography - Seoul Photographer Korea

Most people don’t take seriously the theft of intellectual property. The advisory at the beginning of a DVD that informs the viewer that piracy is a crime is usually met with a familiar disregard. CDs, music, art, writing, and various mediums of creation are at highest risk for being stolen because it’s not something that is physically taken, such as a coat in a department store.

I used to rip music effortlessly. I began when I was young – I’d borrow CDs from the library, burn them, and return them. I had just “outsmarted” paying $8-12 for a CD and I felt a rush from it. By the time I was in college, I had a huge collection of music – every CD from the Beatles, the Rolling Stone, Pink Floyd, Led Zeppelin, and more were all at my disposal. Later, I moved onto storing massive amount of DVDs onto an external hard drive so that I could “own” all the movies I desired.

I met a man who rationalized it, “I’m not going to pay for it anyways, so I might as well take it. Would an artist or a band rather have me not listen and not pay for their music, or have me listen to the music but still not pay?” It was sad logic, because it was almost convincing to a mind seeking an excuse. At that rate, is one going to really pay for anything if paying for it becomes optional? If anyone can get away with a crime without anyone seeing or stopping it, there’s more inclination to partake.

I had an attack of conscience about it a few years ago. I felt guilty - I knew that I had effortlessly collection a massive amount of DVDs and CDs. I didn’t pay for any of it. I knew those movies and CDs had a huge labor of creative energy and time behind them. I could rationalize it as the man I mentioned earlier, but I knew that stealing was stealing.

It was difficult, but I deleted every CD and DVD that I had downloaded and began buying the albums I knew I should pay for. Who would have noticed? No one seemed to care and I don’t think the FBI would have gone through the trouble to find me all the way over in Korea. Well, God noticed, and my conscience was affected.

Every effort and creation is a result of time, effort, and discipline. If there is anything valuable to be found from art, then compensation is needed. Einstein had been quoted, “Imagination is more important than knowledge.” Our imaginations drive us forward, deepen understanding, and entertain mysteries of life. An artist who furthers understanding and development is due compensation in the same way as a teacher who leads us to understand and question the world around us.

For further related reading, please check out: When Diligence Pays Off.


Follow - Social Media
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
  • Instagram Social Icon
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page