top of page

Experiences, Not Objects


Steve Sherk Photography - Seoul Photographer Korea

Money is often a high priority for people. Travel and vacations are often done on a budget to save money. Expensive cars are valued but most cars devalue over time, and all of them eventually turn into rust. The newest phone eventually ends up turning into an outdated artifact as technology progresses. So how do we live a life of satisfaction when everything is changing and stability is elusive?

An adventure is an experience that will stay with you the rest of your life. We all should try something new - skydiving, living in a foreign country, playing in a band, trying a strange food, or taking a challenge once thought undoable. These are what hold value. Love and relationship; experiences and challenges – they not only develop our character, they all lead us to a further understanding about what life is about.

When it comes to the days when we’re all old and sitting around telling stories, do you want to hear about how owning a Porsche was a boost to the ego or how a trip to Venezuela changed somebody’s life perspective? It’s an easy vote for me to cast.

I can’t explain why it was exactly that I wanted to go to Korea – aside from having a Korean roommate in college, it wasn’t exactly a place in which it seemed like an obvious green-light to go to. However, I just knew I should go there. My spirit was beginning to die a little bit in my hometown. I’d go to the same places, restaurants, and bars, just to catch up with the same people. It’s not like I didn’t love my friends, but I needed something new to happen, and I wished it for those around me as well.

I left for Korea in September 2011 and I’ve stayed here for the majority of the time since. Life as a foreigner has been interesting and I’ve been in a lot of awkward, funny, exciting, and unforgettable moments as a result. I wouldn’t exchange any of the bad times for the security and comfort of being back home. Even if I had a nice car and house back in the states, there’s something that I wouldn’t exchange for the life experience that I’ve had by living abroad.

When outside our comfort zones, we learn a lot about ourselves. We grow, we learn, and we understand in ways we wouldn’t otherwise have the chance to do so. A vacation only lasts on average a few days to a couple weeks – are we really learning anything about the culture, way of life, and challenging our minds? That being said, living in a foreign country isn’t necessary for expanding one’s own mind. There are plenty of opportunities for everyone, everywhere to challenge, expand, and grow understanding. We just have to go out and pursue them.

For further related reading, please check out: Too Many Mind.


Follow - Social Media
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
  • Instagram Social Icon
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page