top of page

A Million Places to Be


Steve Sherk Photography - Seoul Photographer Korea

Most everyone enjoys traveling to some degree. There are literally millions of places for us to visit, live, and explore. We often fail to notice that the very place we live, or the place we grew up is a place that someone else would probably love to visit. Life doesn’t elude us, or remain dormant, waiting to be found by us in some far, obscure corner of the world. Life can be just as engaging right where we are - just as it could be anywhere else.

This isn’t to discount the need to exploration. Exploration and discovery is very important for us to learn about ourselves and the world. However, the expression “the grass is always greener on the other side” is what I’m arguing against. The “other side” doesn’t hold something special that we’re lacking. Exploration and discovery, when time or resources limit us, can be found within our immediate environment.

When I first came to Korea, I was always exploring. Every weekend was an opportunity to do something and meet somebody new. All the while, I realized that I had never fully explored my own hometown. When one friend had asked me what was cool or special about Minneapolis, MN, I simply didn’t have an extensive answer by any means. I then noticed that I had been oblivious to the adventure that was at my fingertips for a great part of my life - I never really explored my hometown.

I’m curious to find the answer to why I’ve never explored my immediate surroundings. Perhaps I may have thought that it would have nothing new to offer. I had been to art galleries, museums, bars, and even dealt with the crazy downtown traffic. Maybe I was just turned off by the overall culture of things. I wanted to find more, but maybe I just needed to find myself.

I find it interesting that I don’t miss home. I’ve lived in Korea for close to 5 years now. I do miss my family and friends at times, but overall, I enjoy living in Korea. As a foreigner, I wouldn’t say that I’m an outcast in society, but I’m not exactly apart of the everyday flow of things. Perhaps it reflects my inner understanding of myself, and I feel comfortable in that position.

Life is an interesting place - find out where you’re meant to be. The grass isn’t greener on the other side, but one may be able to find answers in unexpected places. However, discovery isn’t found through distance, it’s found through an effort to explore, learn, and be aware. Sometimes it takes some more attention to detail - other times, it takes a vacation to a far away place. The answers will reveal themselves when pursued, as they come out from within.

For further related reading, please check out: Stilling the Mind.


Follow - Social Media
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
  • Instagram Social Icon
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page