top of page

Love is Coming


Steve Sherk Photography - Seoul Photographer Korea

So our little baby Vivi will be joining the world soon and I couldn’t be more excited. We expect her to arrive in about 9 days. It’s been fun gathering all the small baby things, putting together the baby bed, and picking out cute outfits, and accessories for her to wear. She is such a lively baby already, it’s fun to see her little hand nudging Sojeong from inside the belly. She is definitely ready to have some more space in the real world soon to stretch out and play.

It’s interesting how having a new life in the world is going to change everything. These days, I’ve been feeling the call of responsibility. Oddly, I find myself becoming more responsible when given responsibility. Of course, I’m not perfect; but when I have to get something done, people are looking for me to help lead the way, or help contribute, then I’m not one to back down.

I don’t always go actively looking for people to help or additional tasks to take on, but I always want to perform what I’m committed to do, and do it well. At the end of the day, people either love our work or hate our work. We may get paid a little or we may get paid a lot. However, only we know inside if we’ve been diligent or responsible. Diligence is more than just making money, it’s making a difference, contributing, utilizing talent, and applying skills well.

I made a lot of mistakes growing up, and everyone else would be lying if they couldn’t say the same about themselves. However, just because we’re imperfect doesn’t mean that we should give up on what’s important. I know that Vivi will have some hard days - she’ll be grumpy and rude at times. However, I don’t want to stop having as much love as possible in my heart for her. Love isn’t being a pushover and just being nice; it’s about discipline, time, and attention. Of course, love naturally brings kindness, but love is well rounded and not always easy.

Money goes away and legacies fade, but memories and love well spent is where the real happiness lies. This life is more than just being trying to get ahead all the time and being competitive. The desire to have more of the temporary simply leaves us unhappy with what we already have. We likely have everything we need - food, water, and shelter. It’s up to us to produce and sustain loving relationships, and do what we love to do. It’s a simply formula, but the distractions are many. Sometimes the simplest truths elude us, and we often need a reminder to stay the course. If we are alive, we have a chance to make new choices.

For further related reading, please check out: A Million Places to Be.


Follow - Social Media
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
  • Instagram Social Icon
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page