top of page

I May Not Know You, But I Care


Steve Sherk Photography - Seoul Photographer Korea

If you only care about yourself and your family, then what keeps the community together? Community is a broad term – it sounds very public and impersonal. It’s easy to disassociate and to simple stick to our own little bubble. This is especially true in the United States. Despite it being a huge cultural melting pot, there is more separation than ever. People don’t care much about each other and coming together unless a national disaster happens. Why is it difficult to spend the in-between, regular time helping and being there for each other?

I write this blog because I have the opportunity to help others. I don’t think of myself as wise or deeply understanding, but I do try to keep a good heart. What’s great about blogging is the opportunity to reach others on a global level - I’m able to reach a larger audience than just my immediate community. This is important because my immediate community is limited due to the language barrier of living in South Korea (although I’m working to learn the language to become more fluent).

I don’t want to have to know someone in order to affect his or her life. I want the world to be a better place, and I recognize that my photography, music, and blogging may have a bigger impact than my daily conversations. While any daily conversation may be powerful and helpful, I’m inspired to reach those both near and far.

There’s a lot of pain in the world. Every time I log on Facebook, it’s not long before posts of some political nature bombard me. I hate it. All it does is stress me out. We don’t know how the political system works – mostly we only know it’s flawed and most people sit around and just complain about it. It makes me sad to hear stories of the oppressed living in other countries. Websites claiming to be helpers – can they be trusted? Even worse, people just talk about what’s wrong in the world without having any intent to really do anything to change it.

The world will always have troubles, but it shouldn’t take away from the beauty that remains daily. We shouldn’t feel guilty for being blessed with good living situations. However, we should learn to love, care, and be compassionate – even for those who we don’t know. We can’t fix the world’s problems, but we can sure shine a light.

For further related reading, please check out: Overcoming Upsets.


Follow - Social Media
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
  • Instagram Social Icon
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page